Minutes Special County of Grey Joint All Councils

March 21, 2025

Call to Order

The Special County of Grey Joint All Council meeting was held electronically on the above date at 10:02 a.m. The Warden called the meeting to order and assumed the Chair.

O Canada

The Warden invited members to participate in O Canada.

Roll Call

The Warden asked each Municipal Clerk to verify the elected members present.

Patty Sinnamon, CAO/Clerk for the Township of Chatsworth, confirmed that all locally elected members were present except Councillor Peter Whitten and Councillor Shawn Greig.

Carly Craig, Clerk for the Township of Georgian Bluffs, confirmed that all locally elected members were present except Deputy Mayor Grant Pringle, Councillor Ryan Thompson, Councillor Tobin Day, and Councillor Isaac Shouldice. The following staff from Georgian Bluffs were also in attendance: Niall Lobley, CAO.

Amanda Van Alstine, Clerk for the Municipality of Grey Highlands, confirmed that all locally elected members were present except Councillor Dane Nielsen. The following staff from Grey Highlands were also in attendance: Karen Govan, CAO.

Vicki McDonald, Clerk for the Town of Hanover, confirmed that all locally elected members were present except for Councillor Carol Hudson, Councillor Branon Koebel, and Councillor Dave Hocking. The following staff from Hanover were also in attendance: Sherri Walden, CAO.

Margaret Wilton-Siegel, Clerk for the Municipality of Meaford, confirmed that all locally elected members were present except for Councillor Tony Bell.

Briana Bloomfield, Clerk for the City of Owen Sound, confirmed that all locally elected members were present, except for Councillor Suneet Kukreja.

Lindsey Green, Clerk for the Township of Southgate, confirmed that all locally elected members were present except for Councillor Martin Shipston, Councillor Jason Rice, and Councillor Monica Singh Soares. The following staff from Southgate were also in attendance: Kayla Best, Human Resources Manager.

Corrina Giles, Clerk for the Town of The Blue Mountains, confirmed that all locally elected members were present except for Councillor Paula Hope.

Jamie Eckenswiller, Clerk for the Municipality of West Grey, confirmed that all locally elected members were present except for Mayor Kevin Eccles and Councillor Joyce Nuhn. The following staff from West Grey were also in attendance: Michele Harris, CAO.

The following staff from Grey County were also in attendance: Kim Wingrove, CAO; Randy Scherzer, Deputy CAO; Tara Warder, Clerk; Scott Taylor, Director of Planning; Jenn Moreau, Director of Human Resources; Rob Hatton, Communications Manager; and Rayburn Murray, Deputy Clerk.

Land Acknowledgement

The Warden read the land acknowledgement.

Declaration of Interest

There were no declarations of interest.

Councillor Suneet Kukreja joined the meeting at this time.

Adoption of Agenda and Procedures

The Warden stated that Grey County would maintain all records of this meeting and that quorum shall be determined by 50% plus one of all elected officials across Grey County. The Warden noted that any votes taken would be determined by a simple majority.

JC01-25 Moved by: Councillor T. Hutchinson Seconded by: Councillor McKay

> THAT the Special Grey County Joint All Council meeting adopts the content of the agenda as presented and Grey County Procedural By-law 5134-22 to govern the procedure of its March 21, 2025 joint meeting of the County of Grey and the municipalities of the Town of The Blue Mountains, City of Owen Sound, Township of Georgian Bluffs, Municipality of Meaford, Township of Chatsworth, Municipality of Grey Highlands, Town of Hanover, Municipality of West Grey, and the Township of Southgate; and

THAT quorum shall be determined by 50% plus one of all elected officials across Grey County and that votes taken be determined by a simple majority vote.

Carried

Adoption of Minutes

Special Grey County Joint All Council Meeting - August 8, 2024

JC02-25 Moved by: Councillor Dobreen Seconded by: Councillor Dickert

That the Special Grey County Joint All Council Meeting minutes dated August 8, 2024, be approved as presented.

Carried

Reports

PDR-SJM-19-25 Hybrid Planning Services Model Update

Randy Scherzer, Deputy CAO for the County of Grey, provided an update on the Hybrid Planning Service Delivery Model. Mr. Scherzer referred to the potential efficiencies from the proposed model including avoiding duplication, additional in-house policy expertise, ability to share practices, and more. He further summarized the initial municipal comments received, as identified in Appendix 1 of the report.

Scott Taylor, Director of Planning, summarized the model and indicated that municipalities that chose to opt into a hybrid model would opt into a memorandum of understanding (MOU) with the County, defining the service delivery standards. Mr. Taylor highlighted the importance of relationship building throughout the process and reviewed the municipal staff comments received to date.

Staff indicated there is still a lot of information to be determined and discussions to occur to define what the model would look like, based on municipalities that wish to or wish not to consider the service. Following the joint council meeting, municipalities are asked to indicate in-principal support for a hybrid model. For those that give in-principal support, the County would investigate further details based on each municipality.

In response to questions, Mr. Scherzer referred to the importance of the pay equity process when comparing municipalities and County.

Questions and comments were received from the Joint Council including, the importance of pay equity, funding model for those opting in and out, consideration for delegation of authority, and a planning process mapping summary to further showcase the different options for municipalities.

Councillor Doug Hutchinson left the meeting at 11:00 a.m.

JC03-25 Moved by: Councillor Mackey Seconded by: Councillor Paterson

That report PDR-SJM-19-25 be received; and

That correspondence be sent to each member municipality in Grey County, requesting any interested municipality to indicate its support in-principle for a hybrid planning service delivery model by no later than May 9, 2025.

Carried

By-laws

JC04-25 Moved By: Councillor Allwood Seconded by: Councillor Carleton

That By-law 2025-01, being a by-law to confirm all actions and proceedings of the Grey County Joint All Council meeting held March 21, 2025 be enacted and passed this 21st day of March, 2025.

Carried

Adjournment

On motion by Mayor Brian Milne and Deputy Mayor Peter Bordignon, the Special County of Grey Joint All Council meeting adjourned at 11:23 a.m. to the call of the Warden.